Hello-World!

Welcome to Imitation of Vintage Life!  First off let me tell you a bit about myself. I work for time for what was a mail order business now a dot.com as well.  The company I work for is very small(around 30 employees) but probably the largest in our industry. It’s not a secret but since most of the time I am posting from work I will leave it at that. I grew up in New York between Middle Westchester County and the Bronx. I am a New Yorker at heart. Love everything about it. However I have lived in Atlanta for the past 15 years.  I have a son ’97 and two daughters ’99 & ’05. I’m sure at least a post or two will be about them.  We also have an 8 or nine(found as an adult) year old mixed breed shepard female named Spike(the cartoon Rugrats was HUGE in my house at the time we found her). I am not an animal lover. Don’t get me wrong I love Spike and have loved many other animals dearly in my life it’s just they are like people to me. Some I like some I don’t,  and even if I do like someone , I don’t necessarily want to live with them.

I am obsessed with all things old.  What is now called antique or vintage.  The word is getting a bit overstretched though dontcha think?  I search for vintage clothing on ebay and etsy quite often and when  I see “Vintage 90’s” it annoys  be a bit. IMO the term vintage should be applied only to quality items 30 to 90 years old. Its my understanding that although the word antique is to be applied only to items 100 years older or more. considering the scarcity and demand 1920’s items can and are correctly labeled antique.  If only ebay and such would post a guideline for selling so I don’t have to weed though 90’s babydolls, or 80’s high waisted mom jeans( I just don’t believe there will ever be a demand for those). Another quick ebay suggestion is more of a direction for the seller to list reproductions as such.  I am no purist I love reproductions or vintage inspired( affordable AND much more accessable) just put them where they belong.

Speaking of vintage clothing, one of the reasons I started this blog is my etsy store where I will  be selling vintage and v.i. (vintage inspired) along with jewelry some handmade or refashioned by yours truly. I believe I have a good eye for good pieces and as anyone who knows me will tell you I most certainly have a good eye for a good buy.  As soon as I get enough items inventoried I’ll post a link.  The shops name is Adama a thriftique and my user name is dmoran227. As of this moment I have 0 items. I have promised myself 2 items a day.  I’ll let you know you know how this goes.

On and off topic, I really don’t know who “you” is. I haven’t told anyone about this blog yet. I need to feel myself around a bit first. For instance this first about me post is ALL over the place and a bit run-on. I promise to improve.

Published in: on June 23, 2010 at 4:28 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dmoran227.wordpress.com/2010/06/23/hello-world-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

