Imitation of Life

In case you haven’t noticed the title of my blog. I named it so as sort of a tribute to one of my all time favorite movies Imitation of Life starring the fabulous Lana Turner. It doesn’t get much more glamorous than her. Here is Ms. Turner with a perfect summer look that is suprisingly very current. Rompers and such are huge this year. But as usual vintage and Lana did it better.

She was and is an absolutely beautiful woman. I watched Imitation recently with my now 40 year old eyes and realized she was actually probably very close to my age when that movie was made.

While I was searching for a pic of Lana I found this and decided I was going to try this look at the beach this summer. I would have never thought a boxy boyfriend style blazer(again very current) over a swimsuit was a vintage look but here stands proof. I have recently been looking at tons of vintage fashion photos and can say I am shocked at how contemporary so many of the looks are.

Published in: on June 25, 2010 at 12:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dmoran227.wordpress.com/2010/06/25/imitation-of-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

