Blondie or Red Bull?

Okay so today was my first sweater and boot day of the season. Of course I wore my new(end of last season) boots from warehouse deals.  The start of cold weather for me is so comforting. The ritual of taking out the sweaters and boots, longer nights at home with my family, the smells, baking and comfort foods.  My daughter said to me yesterday, “ooh, it’s cold out, Mom’s gonna be making Blondies”. I love Blondies and make them all the time. In fact I make them so much, my family actually complained for lack of variety. It’s funny because besides ice cream, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth at all.  These however are the exception. I could eat these everyday and never get tired of them.

I’ve decided to do an occasional recipe post. Some will be vintage classics , most will be  family recipes for today’s lifestyle. I’d love it if I had the time and money to devote to preparing tons of new and different dishes for my family. It takes more than a little to run a great efficient kitchen. It takes a lot, keeping scraps for broth, planning meals so any ingredients bought and leftovers  are used and not wasted etc.  I do as best I can with our schedule and budget.  So I thought an occasional family recipe that’s either really good, really easy or beyond the everyday family fare would be nice. This one falls under really good and will help slip you safely past that “fat time of day”

Blondies

4 sticks of BUTTER real whole butter at room temperature

1 1/2 cups white sugar

1 1/2 cups firm packed dark brown sugar

4 eggs

2 tablespoons vanilla extract

4 1/2 cups of flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven to 375

Optional add ins: nuts of all kinds, white chocolate chips, coconut, marshmallows, peanut butter chips.

Dry mix flour, salt, and soda.

In a separate bowl mix the butter and sugars with an electric mixer. Once they’re creamed add in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each.  Add the vanilla to the bowl when you add the last egg.

Add the dry mixture to the bowl a bit at a time( only if you want to avoid the homicide of your mixer and a possible fire, trust me).

I bake in a 9 x 13 pan. They take about 45 minutes to an hour before the knife is clean when inserted in the center. I’m sure cooking in a thin layer would decrease the cooking time quite a bit if you’d like.

If you see the edges starting to brown too much, cover with aluminum foil. In only had to do this once, not sure what was different that day.

Enjoy!

Published in: on October 5, 2010 at 11:34 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dmoran227.wordpress.com/2010/10/05/blondies-or-red-bull/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

